ANNEX 5 List of Interviewees

MONREC

Forest Department

Dr Nyi Nyi Kyaw Director General U Win Naing Thaw Director, NWCD

Dr Naing Zaw Htun

U Than Lin

Park Warden, Htamanthi WS

U Aung Maung

Park Warden, Hkakaborazi NP

U Thein Htay

Park Warden, Hponkanrazi WS

U Win Hlaing

Range Officer, Htamanthi WS

U Kham Ko Ko

Forester, Hponkanrazi WS

U Tun Yin

Park Warden, Hponkanrazi WS

Range Officer, Htamanthi WS

Forester, Hponkanrazi WS

U Maphan Dee Sar Community Guard, Hponkanrazi WS
U Zar Kun Htina Community Guard, Hponkanrazi WS
U Sannaing Phonram Community Guard, Hponkanrazi WS

Environment Conservation Department

U Hla Maung Thein Director General & GEF OFP

U Kyaw San Naing Director, Policy, International Relations, Training &

Research Division

Dr Wei Phyo Oo Staff officer, Planning, Statistics & GIS

U Sein Aung Min Assistant Director, Natural Resources Conservation & EIA

Division

Kachin State Government

U H. Hla Aung Minister for Natural Resources & Environmental

Conservation & Chair of Kachin State PAMCC

U Tun Lwin P.S.O. to the Minister, Myitkyina

U Khin Maung Oo Director, Kachin Forest Department & Secretary of Kachin

State PAMCC

U Ohn Than Director, GAD, Putao District

Sagaing Region Government

H.E. U Kam Za Mung Minister for Agriculture, Livestock and Irrigation, Sagaing

Region Government & Chair of Sagaing Region PAMCC

U Than Soe Director, Sagaing Forest Department and Secretary of

Sagaing Region PAMCC

U Wai Lin Hlaing P.S.O. to the Minister for Agriculture, Livestock and

Irrigation

U Khin Maung Sint Administrator, GAD, Khamti Township & Chair of Khamti

Township PAMCC

U Myint Lay Khamti Township Police Officer, Myanmar Police Force

Daw Khin Shwe Khamti Township Education Officer, Education

Department

Daw Aye Aye Thin Staff Officer, Khamti Planning Department U Myint Ko Ko Staff Officer, Department of Agriculture

U Kyi Moe Lwin Staff Officer, Khamti Agricultural Land Adminstration &

Statistics Department

U Myint Aung Range Officer, Forest Department, Khamti

UNDP

Doley Tshering GEF Regional Technical Advisor, Bangkok Regional Hub

UNDP Myanmar

Peter Batchelor Country Director

Dawn del Rio Deputy Country Director

Biplove Choudhury Chief, Sustainable and Inclusive Growth Unit

Martin Cosier Project Manager & Chief Technical Advisor, Governance

for Resilience & Sustainability Project

Daw Lat Lat Aye Head, UNDP Office Nay Pyi Taw, formerly Team Leader,

Environmental Governance and Disaster Risk Reduction

Daw Le Le Mon Quality Assurance & Reporting Analyst
Sujeeta Bajracharya. Quality Assurance and Reporting Specialist

U Tun Tun UNDP Area Coordinator, Kachin State

Tim Boyle Chief Technical Advisor, UN-REDD/Myanmar

WCS

WCS Myanmar Country Program

U Than Myint Director

Alex Diment Senior Technical Advisor

WCS Project Team

U Saw Htun Deputy Director, Myanmar Program & National Project

Manager

U A Moe Naing Community Mobilizer Project Consultant
Daw Nang Myo Myo Thant Community Engagement Coordinator

Dr Naw May Lay Thant
U Kyaw Moe
Landscape Coordinator, Nay Pyi Taw
Landscape Coordinator, Sagaing Landscape
U Hla Naing
Landscape Coordinator, Kachin Landscape

Daw Myint Myint Oo Senior Technical Coordinator

U Gumring Jungkum Site Coordinator, Hukaung Valley WS

U Sambung Sin Site Coordinator, Hkakaborazi National Park
U Su Pan Assistant Site Coordinator, Htamanthi WS

U Aung Sein Senior Field Assistant

U San Lwin SMART database Assistant

Daw Si Leng Shi Research Assistant
Daw Thazin Phyo Research Assistant
U Wang San Dee Ram Research Assistant

Daw Khin Htwe Yin Stakeholder Engagement Officer

WCS

Colin Poole WCS Regional Director, Greater Mekong

Community Guardians

*Daw Tin Tin Shwe Female community Guardian trainee, Namsabi near Htamanthi

*U Lin Zaw, Namsabi village

*U Sein Thaung Lwin, Kaung Hein village

U Hein Htet Aung, Namsabi village

U Tun Tun, Hway Na village

U Aung Than Sein, Upper Hmai Wei village

U Kyaw Tint Swe, Hway Na village

U Sai Than Hlaing, Sinnaing village

U Sai Aka Kyaw, Kaung Hein village

U Sai Naw Kan Aung, Lin Pha village

U Win Zaw, Namsabi village

U Phoe La Pyae, Namsabi village

^{*} More in-depth interviews held with these 3 Community Guardians, the former to understand the experience and perspectives of a female CG, the latter as the two longest-serving CGs.

LOCAL PEOPLE IN DEMONSTRATION SITES

Interviewees from villages in proposed Southern Extension

Namru Village

U Dangshing Phon Ram Headman,

U Hpan Nan Phong Gon

Daw Cherli Ye Daw Ring Chang

Namruhtu Village

U Marandon Dee Hu Headman

Sawladee Village

U Sa Kia Former Headman
U Maphang Ting Sar Current Headman
U Je Yaw Wu Head of Household

Daw Noemarchi Wife of head of household

Swet Khaung Ngaw

U Than Maung Chairman of Swet Khaung Ngaw Community Forestry User

Group (CFUG)

U Aung Htwe Secretary of CFUG
U Tun Shwe Treasurer of CFUG
U Aung Soe Min CFUG Member

Namsabi

U Tin Soe Chairman of Namsabi CFUG

U Tun Tun Htay Secretary of CFUG
U Kyee Nyo Treasurer of CFUG

CSOs

U Mayit Yaw Shu Chairman of Putao Committee & Treasurer of National

Commmittee, Rawang Literature & Cultural Society, Putao

Daw Nan Yi Yi Thant Member, Shan Literature & Culture Society
U Tin Myint Patron, Shan Literature & Culture Society
U Kyaw Shwe Member, Shan Literature & Culture Society

U Nyan Kyaw Committee Member, Shan Literature & Culture Society

Jack Jenkins Hill Slingshot, an environmental NGO looking at land rights and

natural resources

Christy Williams Country Director, WWF Myanmar

Hana Helsingen Green Economy Manager, WWF Myanmar

Vicky Bowman Director, Myanmar Centre for Responsible Business

OTHER

Ms Min Jeong Kim Head of Office, UNESCO Myanmar

U Saw Win Myo San UNESCO Myanmar

Michele Romano Culture Specialist, UNESCO Myanmar

Dr Lucy Emerton Director, Economics & Finance, Environment Management

Group (has done work with WWF and WCS as a consultant on

PA Finance and Sustainable Finance in Myanmar)